Copenhagen Food Tours

My Master’s Program doesn’t go on quite as many field trips as my 4-year-old’s preschool, but we do have the opportunity for hands-on experiences.

A few weeks ago, we met at Torvehallerne market and went on a tour with Copenhagen Food Tours.  You might be aware that Nordic cuisine is winning countless culinary awards these days.  Copenhagen’s Noma restaurant (which stands for Nordisk mad (Nordic Food)) – has been awarded World’s Best Restaurant for 3 years in a row.  We haven’t been.  Some people find that crazy, but the way we see it, for the price tag of a meal there we could probably fly to Sicily and pick up a pizza.

I will admit, this Nordic Food movement does sounds enticing…organic, fresh, local, tastes from the forest…ingredients such as lichen, wild herbs and quail eggs…however I’m slightly afraid of feeling like I paid big bucks for a mouth full of moss.  Oh well, perhaps I’m not a foodie after all.

But I do love food markets!  And Torevehallerne is a wonderful one (albeit a bit pricey, but that goes without saying in CPH).

IMG_5676

IMG_5699

IMG_5725

IMG_5683

IMG_5697

Our tour with Copenhagen Food Tours was a wonderful chance to sample many traditional Danish foods – some I had tried before, other I hadn’t.  I would recommend the tour for any Copenhagen visitor.

We started off with cheeses at Unika (not pictured) to taste 3 different cheeses and a black currant jam. Then, went to the Bornholm store where we tasted local island treats, including the ever-popular salty licorice and  rhubarb juice.

IMG_5703

Granted, we were on a scaled-down version of the tour, so we skipped the smørrebrød, organic hotdog stand and the Nørrebro brew house.  All things I have tried before. Smørrebrød being one of my favorite!  These traditional open-faced sandwiches are a Danish specialty and a work of art!

IMG_5687

Next, we walked over to Sømods Bolcher where we tried some of the world’s best rock candy – still made the old fashioned way. I took the girls back a few weeks later to see the candy being made.

IMG_5719

We visited a lovely local spice shop and were offered to try some traditional chai tea, which is not Danish, of course and not normally part of the tour.

IMG_5728

IMG_5731

We ended the tour with Danish Summerbird chocolates, which are divine.  Then we headed to the Botanical Gardens and enjoyed a taste of Denmark’s Æbleau – an award winning apple dessert wine, from Skærsøgaard.

IMG_5736

IMG_5737

IMG_5743

IMG_5748

IMG_5749

IMG_5751

This was a good school day.

4 responses to “Copenhagen Food Tours

  1. Pingback: Slightly Spooky & Ever-so Sweet – Part I «·

  2. What fun!! Everything looks delish. My one question about the open face sandwiches…how in the world do you eat them?? I would have it all over my plate on the first try

Leave a Reply

