Doll Upcycle

IMG_1930

I don’t normally post crafty things on this blog. Once upon a time, those posts were reserved for another blog I share with my sister. We used it as a way to share our creativity with each other (and others) when we were living many time zones apart. Thankfully, we are currently in the same time zone and only have to hop in a car to see each other these days, so that blog has gone untouched lately.

However, I wanted to share this latest project because I loved it so much! I was inspired by a viral post that went around about Tree Change Dolls, created by a woman in Australia. She was buying discarded dolls (mostly Bratz dolls) at second-hand charity shops and giving them a fresh, more down-to-earth look. I actually tried to buy a couple of her Tree Change Dolls on Etsy, but was unsuccessful, because she didn’t have very many. I emailed the creator of the dolls and she suggested I try making my own!

So for some crazy reason, that’s just what I did.

I took the paint off their faces, repainted them new faces, washed and cut their hair, knitted little tops, sewed little skirts and made their boots out of a silicone clay. I worked on them for about 3 days while the girls were in school and after they went to bed and it was so rewarding to see these new little girls come to life.

I gave the dolls to my daughters yesterday as a birthday present (their birthdays are close together) and they absolutely love them and have not stopped playing with them. They both took them to school for show-and-tell the next day and have requested that they want to make more dolls with me. I might just have to oblige, because these were so fun to create.

This is what the dolls looked like when I bought them:

bratz

This is what they looked like when they were finished:

IMG_1928

IMG_1935

 before_after_sofia

sunset close up

IMG_1791 IMG_1902

IMG_1926

IMG_1937

6 responses to “Doll Upcycle

  1. Mandy, you never cease to amaze me with your creativity. Don’t know how you find time to do it all.

  2. Wow Mandy. Yikes,what a difference! They were scary before. Sinister, frightening even. What’s with the lips??? I like your version much better. Hands down, much better. You rescued them from a life of…………… I don’t even know what.

  3. Pingback: Upcycled Dolls – Part II |·

  4. Pingback: Upcycled Dolls – Part II·

Leave a Reply

