P is for Pancake…and Parks

Shrove Tuesday – also known as Pancake Day around here – I had to get to the bottom of it. Wikipedia says “Pancake Day is a day in February or March, preceding Ash Wednesday, which is celebrated in some countries by consuming pancakes.” Okay, simple enough…but still a bit of a strange tradition. Basically, it is about the indulgence of food that would be sacrificed for the upcoming forty days of lent.

Any excuse to eat pancakes is okay in my book.

On Pancake Day, last month, while strolling through the neighborhood with Rolf (one of our borrowed doggies) we came upon a children’s pancake race. Traditionally, I think the pancake would be flipped in the pan while running, but they let the kids off easy.

IMG_1659 IMG_1660 IMG_1663

We are approaching our one year anniversary of living in England and we continue to learn more about this small, but fascinating country. Having visited so many times as a child, I thought I knew it pretty well already, but it just goes to show, that no number of visits to a place can equal what you gain from being a resident. I have learned a lot about the UK in the almost-year we have lived here. Thankfully, I like it even more than I used to. And I’m pretty sure these peeps of mine like it too.

IMG_1675

IMG_1653

IMG_1652

You don’t have to venture very far to find a different topography around here. We continue to be amazed by the diversity we can find just outside greater London. Although I continue to miss mountain peaks, we were extremely happy to see tall evergreen trees last weekend, in Bracknell.

IMG_1962 IMG_1963

And even happier to see family. It’s one of the reasons we moved here and I love how easy conversation flows between family members. No matter how much time has passed between visits, all that history is the common thread that pulls you together time and time again.

IMG_1966

We recently ventured out to Morden Hall Park (another National Trust property) in search for more outdoorsy fun. The day was a bit bleak and cold, but as usual, we consumed enough tea and scones, in the end, to keep us warm and happy.

IMG_1676 IMG_1683 IMG_1694 IMG_1695 IMG_1711 IMG_1716 IMG_1717

I kept seeing faces in the tree trunks, like the one below.

IMG_1720

As I scroll through, I realize how wintery these pictures look. I guarantee you, spring has sprung here in jolly ol’ England! There are lots of daffodils and cherry blossoms around every corner. Somehow, they just haven’t ended up on my camera yet. Actually, the sun is shining outside right now and pulling some weeds in the garden has been on my mind today.

Next up…pictures from our trip to Bath a couple of weeks ago! I have vowed not to apologize for my tardiness in posting on this blog. Like most tardiness, it is a sign that life is full and moving furiously fast. The girls will be 7 & 9 this year and our marriage 14 years old. Lots of fun to look forward to (and hopefully document) this year.

Happy Easter!

Leave a comment